Day 64- When Books Fight Back

on

Image

 

I am a bad, bad girl.

I have done it again.

I have ventured back, once more, to the Paperback Paradise in my hometown, scoured the shelves for beautiful, dusty books, and came away, heavy handed, but light-hearted.

Why books?

Why do you have look so sweet, and alluring?

WHY DOES THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO STARE ME DOWN IN EVERY BOOKSTORE I EVER GO TO?

I will break soon, I swear it.

And of course, I did get a whole stackful of books for this blog.

Now if I can ever sit down to read them, we’ll be near there.

I also unfortunately discovered thriftbooks.com and ebay.com for used books, so I also have an arsenal of banned books being flighted my way.

It’s a simply marvelous idea to create a stockpile of books, just before a move, right?

 

I have to say though, it’s good to have this side of me back.

For years I would haunt public libraries and bookstores and they would fill me with such joyful incompleteness- like an ache for more that could never be satiated, yet kept at bay with musty scented pages and bright, delightfully worn covers.

Don’t even get me started on new book smell. Few things are as delightful as a book, freshly minted. 

 

However, I am starting to think all these books are starting a war with me. The more I collect, the more it’s becoming painfully obvious that not only am I going to have to move them in a few days, I’m also going to have to read them sometime in the next month before school starts up.

How is this going to work?

And when am I going to have time for work?

Leave Breeness Some Wordage

